Online notary services compared: price, hours and ID rules
Need something notarized today without leaving home? Here is what each online notary service actually charges, when it's open, what ID it needs and what it won't do, taken from each company's own pages.
The short answer
- Price: For a single signer and one seal, the consumer services below list $19.95–$25.192468 Extra seals, extra signers and witnesses are where prices diverge.
- Hours: Notarize, NotaryCam, OneNotary, BlueNotary and NotaryLive say they're available 24/7.13468 OnlineNotary.net lists limited daily hours.9
- ID: Expect to show a physical government photo ID on camera and pass a knowledge-based quiz drawn from your credit history.101158
- Can't do: Apostilles and foreign-embassy documents (Proof, BlueNotary), Form I-9 and codicils/testamentary trusts (BlueNotary), and wills and trusts may need in-person notarization (NotaryCam).1372
Notarize (by Proof)
$25 per notarization (Notarize Network meeting)
24/7 · +$15 each additional seal; +$10 each additional signer; +$15 each on-demand witness
NotaryCam
$25 per seal (includes one signer)
24/7 (real-estate closings 7am–11pm ET) · +$10 each additional signer; $79 fee if signer(s) have no US SSN. Real-estate closings start at $199.
OneNotary
$25 per session (1 stamp, 1 signer)
24/7 · +$10 each additional stamp; +$10 each additional signer; $15 OneNotary witness. Mobile (in-person) notary from $80.
BlueNotary
$25 (1 stamp, 1 signer)
24/7 on-demand · +$8 each additional stamp; +$5 each additional signer; $10 BlueNotary witness
NotaryLive
$25 per session (first 25 pages included)
24/7/365 · +$5 each additional signer; +$5 per additional 25 pages; $10 on-demand witness; no extra charge for additional seals
OnlineNotary.net
$19.95 per signer
Listed as 10AM–2AM daily on the pricing section and 9AM–2AM in the footer; time zone not stated · +$5 additional notary stamp per document
Full comparison
| Service | Price (1 signer, 1 seal) | Extras | Hours | ID needed | Won't do / limits | Source & date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Notarize (by Proof) On-demand, for individuals |
$25 per notarization (Notarize Network meeting) | +$15 each additional seal; +$10 each additional signer; +$15 each on-demand witness | 24/7 | Physical, unexpired government photo ID (US driver's license/state ID, US passport or passport card, permanent resident card, foreign passport with machine-readable zone). Not accepted: military IDs, digital wallet IDs, photocopies. KBA quiz needs SSN/ITIN last 4, a US address and about 6 months of credit history; a selfie-based option exists if you have no SSN/ITIN. | Document must be for use within the US; Proof cannot issue apostilles and says it is not the right tool for foreign-embassy documents. Most transactions need a current or former US address. Webcam and microphone required. | Notarize pricing; Proof Help: Acceptable forms of ID; Proof Help: What you need; Proof Help: What Proof doesn't support; Proof Help: Will my document be accepted? Checked 2026-10-27 |
| NotaryCam On-demand, for individuals and real estate |
$25 per seal (includes one signer) | +$10 each additional signer; $79 fee if signer(s) have no US SSN. Real-estate closings start at $199. | 24/7 (real-estate closings 7am–11pm ET) | Government-issued ID such as a driver's license, ID card or passport; webcam and microphone. | NotaryCam says RON is not accepted in all states and that wills and trusts may require in-person notarization. | NotaryCam pricing; NotaryCam FAQ (hours); NotaryCam Notarize Now (ID) Checked 2026-10-27 |
| OneNotary On-demand, for individuals and businesses |
$25 per session (1 stamp, 1 signer) | +$10 each additional stamp; +$10 each additional signer; $15 OneNotary witness. Mobile (in-person) notary from $80. | 24/7 | Knowledge-based questions plus photos of the front and back of your driver's license (per OneNotary FAQ). | Any document your state permits for online notarization; upload limit 35 MB. Completed documents kept only 7 days on the pay-as-you-go plan. | OneNotary plans & pricing; OneNotary homepage FAQ Checked 2026-10-27 |
| BlueNotary On-demand, for individuals and businesses |
$25 (1 stamp, 1 signer) | +$8 each additional stamp; +$5 each additional signer; $10 BlueNotary witness | 24/7 on-demand | Government-issued ID (driver's license, passport or other supported ID), front and back; you may be asked for the last 4 digits of your SSN and your address. | Will not notarize documents going to a foreign embassy, codicils and testamentary trusts, or Form I-9. Files up to 30 MB. | BlueNotary pricing; BlueNotary fee schedule; BlueNotary: what documents can be notarized; BlueNotary: how it works (signer) Checked 2026-10-27 |
| NotaryLive On-demand, for individuals and businesses |
$25 per session (first 25 pages included) | +$5 each additional signer; +$5 per additional 25 pages; $10 on-demand witness; no extra charge for additional seals | 24/7/365 | Valid government photo ID (credential analysis) plus KBA (4 of 5 questions in 2 minutes); a 'Personal Verifier' option if KBA fails. | unknown | NotaryLive pricing & FAQ Checked 2026-10-27 |
| OnlineNotary.net On-demand, for individuals (US residents) |
$19.95 per signer | +$5 additional notary stamp per document | Listed as 10AM–2AM daily on the pricing section and 9AM–2AM in the footer; time zone not stated | KBA/ID verification included per signer; US residents only, with valid proof of US residential address. | US residents only. Advertises a full refund if your recipient doesn't accept the document. | OnlineNotary.net pricing Checked 2026-10-27 |
| DocVerify (listed by states as "Expedite, formerly DocVerify") Software for notaries/businesses, not an on-demand consumer service |
unknown for individuals. Search-engine copy of its pricing page shows RON only on the Enterprise plan ($65 per user/month, prepaid annually), with extra fees for ID verification and recording. | unknown | n/a (you bring your own notary) | unknown | unknown docverify.com would not load from our server on 2026-10-27 (browser reported an invalid/expired TLS certificate). Figures are from a search-engine copy and are unverified. |
DocVerify pricing (could not load directly); NNA state platform lists (Expedite, formerly DocVerify) Checked 2026-10-27 |
| Clear Sign (Rocket Close; formerly Nexsys / Amrock) Mortgage eClosing platform for lenders and title companies |
unknown (no public pricing) | unknown | unknown | unknown | Built for mortgage signings; not a place to upload your own personal document. nexsys.com now redirects to a domain-for-sale page. NNA's state lists show 'Clear Sign (Amrock, LLC – formerly Nexsys)'. |
Rocket Close: Clear Sign; NNA state platform lists Checked 2026-10-27 |
"unknown" means we couldn't find it on a public page. Prices are what each company lists for an individual's notarization; state law sets separate caps on what a notary may charge, and platforms may charge technology fees on top (for example, Florida's $25 cap excludes RON provider fees).
What it really costs: three common situations
Listed per-item prices add up differently depending on your document. Here is the arithmetic using each company's published add-on fees (before any state technology fees or taxes):
| Service | 1 signer, 1 seal | 2 signers, 1 seal | 1 signer, 3 seals |
|---|---|---|---|
| Notarize | $25 | $35 | $55 |
| NotaryCam | $25 | $35 | $75 (priced per seal) |
| OneNotary | $25 | $35 | $45 |
| BlueNotary | $25 | $30 | $41 |
| NotaryLive | $25 | $30 | $25 (no charge for extra seals) |
| OnlineNotary.net | $19.95 | $39.90 (per signer) | $29.95 |
Calculated from the pricing pages cited in the table above (checked 2026-10-27). NotaryCam's three-seal figure assumes its "$25 per seal" price applies to each seal. NotaryCam also lists a $79 fee if a signer has no US SSN.2
Takeaway: if your document has several notarial certificates, a per-session price (NotaryLive) or a cheap extra-seal price (BlueNotary, OnlineNotary.net) matters more than the headline $25.
Will a document notarized online be accepted where I live?
Two separate questions decide this:
- Is the notary allowed to do it? Online notaries act under the law of the state that commissioned them. Texas law says its online notaries may notarize "regardless of whether the principal is physically located in this state",14 and Florida's statute says the same for Florida online notaries.15 Notarize says online notarizations are valid in every state, judged by the notary's commissioning state's law.1
- Will the recipient accept it? The bank, court, county recorder or agency receiving your document has the final say. Proof's own help center tells signers to ask the recipient first.13 Some states carve out exceptions; for example, Proof notes that Connecticut doesn't recognize online notarizations for real-estate transfer documents, and that Louisiana doesn't treat them as "authentic acts".1617
As of our last check, 42 of 51 jurisdictions let their own notaries perform RON, and a few are unclear or not yet in effect. See all 50 states + DC →
If you don't have a US Social Security number
- Notarize/Proof: selfie-plus-ID verification is offered if you have no SSN or ITIN, but you still need a current or former US address.12
- NotaryCam: lists a $79 fee when signers have no US SSN.2
- NotaryLive: offers a "Personal Verifier" option if KBA is unavailable.8
- OnlineNotary.net: serves US residents only, with proof of a US residential address.9
Business and mortgage platforms (not for one-off documents)
DocVerify (state lists now show it as "Expedite, formerly DocVerify") and Clear Sign (Rocket Close, formerly Nexsys/Amrock) appear on many states' approved-platform lists,18 but they're tools for notaries, lenders and title companies rather than places where you can upload your own document and get a notary on demand. Clear Sign is built for mortgage signings,19 and DocVerify sells per-user licenses.20 We couldn't load docverify.com from our server when we checked, so treat its figures in the table as unverified.
-
NotaryCam, FAQ ("NotaryCam is here for you 24/7, 365 days a year"). ↩
-
OneNotary, Plans & pricing, checked 2026-10-27. ↩↩
-
OneNotary, homepage FAQ (ID verification). ↩
-
BlueNotary, Pricing and Fee schedule. ↩↩
-
BlueNotary Helpdesk, What documents can be notarized on BlueNotary? ↩
-
NotaryLive, Pricing & FAQ, checked 2026-10-27. ↩↩↩↩
-
Proof Help Center, Acceptable forms of ID for online notarization. ↩
-
Proof Help Center, What you need for online notarization. ↩
-
Proof Help Center, Verify your identity without a Social Security number. ↩
-
Proof Help Center, Will my document be accepted? ↩↩
-
Proof, Connecticut RON laws. ↩
-
Proof, Louisiana RON laws. ↩
-
National Notary Association, RON platform information by state (current as of Aug 10, 2026). ↩
-
Rocket Close, Clear Sign. ↩
-
DocVerify, Pricing (could not be loaded directly on 2026-10-27; figures from a search-engine copy). ↩
Frequently asked questions
How much does it cost to get a document notarized online?
For one signer and one notary seal, the on-demand services we checked list $19.95 (OnlineNotary.net) to $25 (Notarize, NotaryCam, OneNotary, BlueNotary, NotaryLive). Extra seals, signers and witnesses cost more; see the comparison table for each company's add-on fees.
Is an online notarization legally valid?
Providers say documents notarized online by a properly commissioned online notary are valid in every state, judged under the law of the notary's commissioning state. Whoever receives your document still decides whether to accept it, so ask them first. Proof's help center says the same.
Can I use an online notary if my state doesn't allow RON?
Usually, yes. Texas and Florida law both let their online notaries notarize for signers located anywhere. Your own state's rules and the receiving party still matter. Check your state on our state-by-state page.
What ID do I need for an online notarization?
Typically a physical, unexpired government photo ID (driver's license, state ID or passport) plus a knowledge-based quiz built from your credit history. Proof's KBA asks for the last 4 digits of your SSN or ITIN and needs about 6 months of US credit history.
Can an online notary give me an apostille?
No. Proof says it cannot issue apostilles and isn't the right tool for documents headed to a foreign embassy, and BlueNotary won't notarize foreign-embassy documents. Apostilles come from your state's secretary of state.